Upcoming Sequels for July 2019

This is our list of upcoming sequels for July 2019. If you know of any that aren’t on our list, feel free to leave a comment! We’ll also include links to our recap(s) of the series so that you can refresh your memory and get started on the new releases!

We thought it would be useful to include a list of the upcoming sequels (or first books in a new series) that are coming out each month so you know what you could get your hands on. We’ll be posting a list every single month in order to help you keep track of new releases.

Upcoming Sequels for July 2019

07/02/2019
1. Queen of Ruin by Tracy Banghart (Grace and Fury #2)
2. Immunity by Erin Bowman (Contagion #2) – Contagion Recap

07/09/2019
1. Age of Legends by Michael J. Sullivan (Legends of the First Empire #4)

07/23/2019
1. Jade War by Fonda Lee (Green Bone Saga #2) – Jade City Recap
2. Soul of Stars by Ashley Poston (Heart of Iron #2) – Recap coming soon!

07/30/2019
1. Dark Age by Pierce Brown (Red Rising #5) – Red Rising Recaps

New Series for June 2019

1. The Beckoning Shadow by Katharyn Blair
2. Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
3. The Storm Crow by Kalyn Josephson
4. The Rage of Dragon by Evan Winters
5. The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

Which upcoming sequels are you most looking forward to? Personally, I’m super excited to read Jade War after just recently finishing Jade City. Immunity promises to be pretty good as well since I really enjoyed Contagion! 

If there are any other sequels coming out that you would like a recap for, or if you would like us to recap any of the books mentioned above, let us know in the comments below.

Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi

The basics

Title: Defy Me

Author:

Series: Shatter Me #5

- Shatter Me (November 2011)
- Unravel Me (February 2013)
- Ignite Me (February 2014)
- Restore Me (April 2018)
- Defy Me (2019)
- Imagine Me (2020)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Juliette’s short tenure as the supreme commander of North America has been an utter disaster. When the children of the other world leaders show up on her doorstep, she wants nothing more than to turn to Warner for support and guidance. But he shatters her heart when he reveals that he’s been keeping secrets about her family and her identity from her—secrets that change everything.

Juliette is devastated, and the darkness that’s always dwelled within her threatens to consume her. An explosive encounter with unexpected visitors might be enough to push her over the edge.
Read more »

Contagion by Erin Bowman

contagion recap

The basics

Title: Contagion

Author:

Series: Contagion #1

- Contagion (2018)
- Immunity (2019)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

It got in us

After receiving an urgent SOS from a work detail on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is dispatched to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission.

Most are dead.

But when the crew arrives, they find an abandoned site, littered with rotten food, discarded weapons…and dead bodies.

Don't set foot here again.

As they try to piece together who—or what—could have decimated an entire operation, they discover that some things are best left buried—and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.
Read more »

Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson

shadows of self recap

The basics

Title: Shadows of Self

Author:

Series: Mistborn #5

- The Final Empire (July 2006)
- The Well of Ascension (August 2007)
- The Hero of Ages (October 2008)
- The Alloy of Law (November 2011)
- Shadows of Self (October 2015)
- The Bands of Mourning (January 2016)
- The Lost Metal (2020?)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn.

It is more than 300 years after the events of the The Final Empire shaped Scadrial. Waxillium Ladrian has returned to the capital city of Elendel from the far flung roughs. Elendel is crisscrossed by canals and railways and towers reach for the sky but this is still a city of dangers and of magic; Allomancy and Feruchemy can still change the world. Wax faces many more adventures.
Read more »

Jade City by Fonda Lee

jade city recap

The basics

Title: Jade City

Author:

Series: The Green Bone Saga #1

- Jade City (2017)
- Jade War (2019)


Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Magical jade—mined, traded, stolen, and killed for—is the lifeblood of the island of Kekon. For centuries, honorable Green Bone warriors like the Kaul family have used it to enhance their abilities and defend the island from foreign invasion.

Now the war is over and a new generation of Kauls vies for control of Kekon's bustling capital city. They care about nothing but protecting their own, cornering the jade market, and defending the districts under their protection. Ancient tradition has little place in this rapidly changing nation.

When a powerful new drug emerges that lets anyone—even foreigners—wield jade, the simmering tension between the Kauls and the rival Ayt family erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all Green Bones—from their grandest patriarch to the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets—and of Kekon itself.
Read more »

Lifelike by Jay Kristoff

lifelike recap

The basics

Title: Lifelike

Author:

Series: Lifelike #1

- Lifelike (2018)
- Deviate (2019)
- Untitled (2020)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

On a floating junkyard beneath a radiation sky, a deadly secret lies buried in the scrap.

Eve isn’t looking for secrets—she’s too busy looking over her shoulder. The robot gladiator she’s just spent six months building has been reduced to a smoking wreck, and the only thing keeping her Grandpa from the grave was the fistful of credits she just lost to the bookies. To top it off, she’s discovered she can destroy electronics with the power of her mind, and the puritanical Brotherhood are building a coffin her size. If she’s ever had a worse day, Eve can’t remember it.

But when Eve discovers the ruins of an android boy named Ezekiel in the scrap pile she calls home, her entire world comes crashing down. With her best friend Lemon Fresh and her robotic conscience, Cricket, in tow, she and Ezekiel will trek across deserts of irradiated glass, infiltrate towering megacities and scour the graveyard of humanity’s greatest folly to save the ones Eve loves, and learn the dark secrets of her past.

Even if those secrets were better off staying buried.
Read more »

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

crazy rich asians recap

The basics

Title: Crazy Rich Asians

Author:

Series: Crazy Rich Asians #1

- Crazy Rich Asians (2013)
- China Rich Girlfriend (2015)
- Rich People Problems (2017)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.

When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home, long drives to explore the island, and quality time with the man she might one day marry. What she doesn't know is that Nick's family home happens to look like a palace, that she'll ride in more private planes than cars, and that with one of Asia's most eligible bachelors on her arm, Rachel might as well have a target on her back.

Initiated into a world of dynastic splendor beyond imagination, Rachel meets Astrid, the It Girl of Singapore society; Eddie, whose family practically lives in the pages of the Hong Kong socialite magazines; and Eleanor, Nick's formidable mother, a woman who has very strong feelings about who her son should--and should not--marry. Uproarious, addictive, and filled with jaw-dropping opulence, Crazy Rich Asians is an insider's look at the Asian JetSet; a perfect depiction of the clash between old money and new money; between Overseas Chinese and Mainland Chinese; and a fabulous novel about what it means to be young, in love, and gloriously, crazily rich.
Read more »

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

skyward brandon sanderson recap

The basics

Title: Skyward

Author:

Series: Skyward #1

- Skyward (2018)
- Starsight (2019)
- Untitled
- Untitled


Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Defeated, crushed, and driven almost to extinction, the remnants of the human race are trapped on a planet that is constantly attacked by mysterious alien starfighters. Spensa, a teenage girl living among them, longs to be a pilot. When she discovers the wreckage of an ancient ship, she realizes this dream might be possible—assuming she can repair the ship, navigate flight school, and (perhaps most importantly) persuade the strange machine to help her. Because this ship, uniquely, appears to have a soul.
Read more »

The Wicked King by Holly Black

The basics

Title: The Wicked King

Author:

Series: The Folk of the Air #2

- The Cruel Prince (2018)
- The Wicked King (2019)
- The Queen of Nothing (2020)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring.

The first lesson is to make yourself strong.

After the jaw-dropping revelation that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. Navigating the constantly shifting political alliances of Faerie would be difficult enough if Cardan were easy to control. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her even as his fascination with her remains undiminished.

When it becomes all too clear that someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves, Jude must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world.
Read more »

King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo

what happened in king of scars

The basics

Title: King of Scars

Author:

Series: Nikolai Duology #1

- King of Scars (2019)
- Untitled

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his country’s bloody civil war—and he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravka’s coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.

Yet with every day a dark magic within him grows stronger, threatening to destroy all he has built. With the help of a young monk and a legendary Grisha Squaller, Nikolai will journey to the places in Ravka where the deepest magic survives to vanquish the terrible legacy inside him. He will risk everything to save his country and himself. But some secrets aren’t meant to stay buried—and some wounds aren’t meant to heal.
Read more »