Recaps for "Truly Devious"

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

truly devious cover

The basics

Title: Truly Devious


Series: Truly Devious #1

- Truly Devious (2018)
- The Vanishing Stair (2019)
- The Hand on the Wall (2020)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place" he said, "where learning is a game."

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym, Truly Devious. It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.
Read more »

Notice: Constant WP_USE_THEMES already defined in /home/booksoyj/public_html/ on line 14