Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

The basics

Title: Truthwitch


Series: The Witchlands #1

- Truthwitch (2016)
- Windwitch (2017)
- Bloodwitch (2019)

Add it: Goodreads

Goodreads Summary:

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands. Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home. Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she's a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden - lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult's true powers are hidden even from herself. In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls' heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Read a full summary of Truthwitch by Susan Dennard below. If you can’t remember what happened in Truthwitch and you need a refresher, then you’re in the right place.

What happened in Truthwitch?

  • Truthwitch starts by introducing us to Safi, a Truthwitch, and Iseult, a Threadwitch. They’re trying to rob some people on the road because they lost all their money playing cards, but it goes wrong when they try to rob the wrong people and a Bloodwitch starts hunting for them.
  • They bump into Merik during a fight along the docks. Merik saves the girls from a man who is Cleaving.
  • The girls have to split up. Iseult is sent away back to her family, and Safi goes to her drunken uncle (who’s apparently not actually a drunk).
  • There’s a ball, and Safi dances with Merik. She finds out that she’s betrothed to an old guy and isn’t very happy.
  • Aeduan, the Bloodwitch, follows Safi to the ball and realises that she’s a Truthwitch.
  • Safi has to flee, and her uncle has arranged passage with Merik’s crew.
  • Iseult, meanwhile, collects some Threadstones that alert her to danger.
  • Safi and Iseult bump into one another again and get on Merik’s ship. Iseult is injured, and Aeduan is unhappy because he couldn’t catch them.
  • Merik’s monk auntie Evrane starts trying to heal Iseult but finds it difficult. Iseult starts hearing voices which probably isn’t a good sign.
  • Merik and Safi get to know one another and they kiss.
  • Vaness, Merik’s sister, is trying to command both the land and the sea. She attacks Merik’s ship because she wants to get hold of Safi.
  • Aeduan is still following them, by the way.
  • Evrane reveals that she trained Aeduan at the monastery. She stays behind to confront him as the girls run.
  • Vaness’s crew are nearby. Safi and Iseault switch clothes to try to trick them and Aeduan. It works, and Aeduan starts chasing after Iseult.
  • Evrane is attacked by the Cleaved, and Aeduan takes her to the Origin Well to save her life.
  • Aeduan realises he’s been making many mistakes, and that the girls are actually the Char Awen. He vows to protect them from now on.
  • Vaness finds Safi and they fight. Safi loses, and is taken captive. She promises to let Vaness use her Truthwitchery if Vaness will open trade between their nations.
  • Kullen loses control and starts Cleaving. Merik has a building collapse on top of him and everyone assumes he’s dead.
  • Vaness and Safi head to Azmir.

This is a full plot summary of what happened in Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. Check out our recap list for more recaps. If you can’t find what you need, you can request a recap from us!

Other recaps for this series:

Leave a reply